Gardening Clubs & Societies

The South African Landscapers Institute

The South African Landscapers Institute (SALI) was formed in 1984 by a group of progressive landscapers who saw the potential of the landscape industry in South Africa. They believed that the true potential could only be realized if landscape contractors.

Cape Region: Mary Vincent
President Contact Phone: 021 558 4989
President Contact Email:
Gauteng region: Dez Whitehead
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 084 667 2556
KZN Region: Sandy Southey
Contact Email:
Contact Phone: 083 361 8228
Social Media: Facebook

South African Bonsai Association

President: Caroll Dewar Hermann
President Contact Phone:  082 567 7583
President Contact Email: OR
Vice President: Org Exley
Vice President Contact Phone: 082 809 2037
Vice President Contact Email:

Durban North Garden Club

The club is open to anyone interested in gardening and meets on the fourth Monday of months January to November. Meetings alternate between evening meetings with speakers or workshops and morning meetings of outings to nurseries, gardens, etc.

Chairperson: Wendy Clack
Chairperson Contact Phone: 084 8146854
Chairperson Contact Email:
Secretary: Wendy Clack
Secretary Contact Phone: 031 5639167
Secretary Contact Email:
Areas Covered: Durban North, La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks, Morningside
Location: KwaZulu-Natal

Umhlanga Rocks Garden Club

For garden lovers in the north Durban area.

Chairperson: Laurelle Barnett
Chairperson Contact Phone: 031 564 5515
Chairperson Contact Email:
Areas Covered: Umhlanga, La Lucia, Somerset Valley, Glenashley, Durban North & Sunningdale
Location: KwaZulu-Natal

Alfred County Orchid Society

Alfred County Orchid Society takes it’s name from the magisterial district of Port Shepstone during the old colonial era, of the later part of the 19th century, that was known as Alfred County, and was situated between the Umtamvuna river in the south and the Umzumbe river in the north.

President: Mike Morrison
President Contact Phone: 082 338 3358
Vice President: Martin Rautenbach
Vice President Contact Phone: 082 320 6361
Secretary: Dennis McCartney
Secretary Contact Phone: 082 556 4975
Areas Covered: Hibberdene to Port Edward
Location: KwaZulu-Natal

The Royal Agricultural Society

The Royal Agricultural Society is a private non-profit organisation, run largely by unpaid volunteers who of their own volition have a tradition – extending for 163 years – of hosting shows in support of agriculture, horticulture and broad economic activity within the province of KZN. Any profits generated by the Society are expended solely on agricultural and horticultural related service activities and on maintaining the Society’s facilities.

Chairperson: Mr M Moncur
Chairperson Contact Phone: 033 345 6274
Chairperson Contact Email:
Location: KwaZulu-Natal

Dendrological Society of South Africa

We promote knowledge, protection and propagation of trees, and the preservation of tree-dominated ecosystems, as a contribution to effective environmental conservation and improvement in South Africa.

Chairperson: Naas Grové
Chairperson Contact Phone: 082 575 4244
Chairperson Contact Email:
Secretary: Francois Van Wyk
Secretary Contact Email:
Areas Covered: South Africa